Which SSRs?

Alles was mit der PC_DIMMER Hardware zu tun hat
Antworten
Benutzeravatar
admin
PC_DIMMER-Entwickler
Beiträge: 1812
Registriert: 12.11.2007, 09:30
Wohnort: Knw.-Remsfeld
Kontaktdaten:

Which SSRs?

Beitrag von admin » 12.11.2007, 18:13

SeBsZ asked:

Hi Christian,

Please can you tell me a model of VERY common and popular SSR that will work with the pcdimmer? I am scared of buying SSRs because I don't know about the zerocrossing detection etc. and which will work.

Each SSR will be dimming a single 80W incandescent bulb. So 1-2A should be enough for each SSR.

Please, can you help me find a model number that will work with the pcdimmer.

Thanks!! Im on MSN if you can tell me there that would be great, because I dont check this forum every day.
Sorry, but I've deleted the MSN some months ago... You can use the Sharp S202S01 Solid-State-Relay.

here a short list of the available types:
S102S01 = 100Vac without ZeroCrossing Detection (for Dimming)
S102S02 = 100Vac with ZeroCrossing Detection (for Switching)
S202S01 = 200Vac without ZeroCrossing Detection (for Dimming)
S202S02 = 200Vac with ZeroCrossing Detection (for Switching)


Instead of SSRs you can use TRIACs with an optocoupler (as shown in the pc_dimmer schematics).


cu,
Chris Smile
Hi,

So you can confirm that I can use the Sharp S202S01 in the pcdimmer (instead of the whole Triac/optocoupler) and drive a 80W incandescent lightbulb and be able to dim it etc.

Just need a confirmation - as I'm buying 64 of them Razz

ANd have YOU used this SSR in one of your pcdimmers?

Thanks
Hey SeBsZ,


here is the pdf-file I've taken to get my informations:

http://www.ortodoxism.ro/datasheets/Sharp/mXusrsu.pdf

The S202S01 (with "one" at the end) does not have a zero-crossing-detection.

And yes, I am using SSRs in my first dimmer - they are working great. In the one hand it is a bit more expensive to replace damaged SSRs than TRIACs, but in the other hand it save much components on the board Smile


Good luck Wink
Hi,

I ordered the SSRs!

Please can you also tell me whether I can remove the LED and resistor in the line that connects to the SSR, or I need the resistor in series with the SSR?

Thanks
The resistor is very important. It reduces the current to the gate of the SSR. If you connect the SSR to the atmel directly, the gate or the processor could be damaged by an overcurrent.

The LED is optional, just remove the LEDs and connect the SSR directly to the resistor. This is no problem.


Good night Smile
Thank you for your help,

I was wondering how you built your circuit boards. Did you use standard board with many holes already there, or you got professional printed circuit boards?

I'm afraid if I just use wires to connect everything, I will get a LOT of wires crossing each other and there might be interference (EMI?) . Which parts should I keep far away from each other? Could the SSRs when dimming create this interference and interfere with the small low voltage signal wires?

Thank you,

Sebastiaan

Yes, I've used some of these standard boards with lots of holes with copper rings. I've used some wires with solder as tracks like in PCBs. It is quite working well. And yes, the SSR-switching (230V with 325V peak) can disturb the lower signals. So please put the microcontroller at the other side of the board :) If you are not using ZeroCrossing-Detection lines longer than 10cm between the optocoupler and the microcontroller, it should work very well.


bye,
Chris :)

SeBsZ

Beitrag von SeBsZ » 14.11.2007, 17:22

Hi,

thanks for your reply. I have just received my SSRs :)

Awaiting your photos...

many thanks again for your help

SeBsZ

Beitrag von SeBsZ » 19.11.2007, 18:01

Christian?

Benutzeravatar
admin
PC_DIMMER-Entwickler
Beiträge: 1812
Registriert: 12.11.2007, 09:30
Wohnort: Knw.-Remsfeld
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von admin » 20.11.2007, 12:57

Yes, I've forgot to publish the pictures - sorry. When I'm home again I will post some pictures of the last dimmerpack I've build.


see you later :-)

SeBsZ

Beitrag von SeBsZ » 22.11.2007, 19:10

Christian!

The SSRs... how many amperes do they support? You told me they are fine for my 80w lamps? Maybe I made a miscalculation, but I don't know where in the datasheet it says how much current. The only current I find is 50mA and that wouldn't be enough for 80w I think.

Please help me out, and please tell me I bought the right SSRs!!

Seb

Benutzeravatar
admin
PC_DIMMER-Entwickler
Beiträge: 1812
Registriert: 12.11.2007, 09:30
Wohnort: Knw.-Remsfeld
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von admin » 22.11.2007, 22:45

If you have the Sharp S202S0x then you have a SSR for 230Vac with more than 8 Ampere (= something around 1800W per chip).

so you've bought the right chips! :-) Here is the datasheet:
http://sharp-world.com/products/device/ ... 2s02_e.pdf.
On the first page on the upper right corner there is the value: 8Arms at 230Vac. The 50mA are values for the internal optocoupler-diode ;-)


And here are the pictures I made for you:

Bild
Bild
Bild



bye,
Chris :)

SeBsZ

Beitrag von SeBsZ » 23.11.2007, 16:03

THank you, VERY VERY much. Excellent pictures! Yes those are the SSRs I bought (8A :> nice)

As for your board layout, did you draw this anywhere before you built it on the actual board? Like did you use a computer program to get the layout the way you wanted it? If so, can I have this file? I hope you understand what I mean :). Just so that I can follow the same layout so I have no problems later on with my component locations being wrong or too close to 220VAC :P.

Thanks again!

Benutzeravatar
admin
PC_DIMMER-Entwickler
Beiträge: 1812
Registriert: 12.11.2007, 09:30
Wohnort: Knw.-Remsfeld
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von admin » 24.11.2007, 03:33

No, sorry. I did this "on-the-fly". First I've put some critical components on the board (µController, SSRs and the transformator) and fixed them with a bit of hot melt adhesive. Nothing more. I've used isolated wires for the 230V part, so there is no problem with isolation-clearance.

good night :)

Antworten